FLANNEL SHIRTS
AND
BIB OVERALLS

A few days ago as I was looking through my old pictures, I came across a picture of my Grandpa sitting on the floor playing with my two and five year old boys. This picture was taken forty years ago and brought back the warm memories I had for my Grandpa and the memories my boys have of him.
He was wearing his uniform, “a flannel shirt and denim bib overalls”. These memories gave me such a warm feeling so I wanted to see what a quilt made from flannel shirts and denim would look like.
Down to the Thrift Store I went to dig through the fabric bins to see what was there. (Well, actually it took several trips to several stores to find what I wanted). Several trips later I was able to put together the quilt I wanted.
Now, is it the actual clothing my Grandpa wore? No, but just seeing those plaid shirts and faded jeans brings back so many memories. When my grandchildren come to visit, they want to know all about their great-grandpa; and his love for their Dads.

Memories Warm the Home

Memories Warm the Home

