As I check out my networking opportunities for the upcoming week, I realize that I could attend several events every day.  I love networking and truly believe that the old saying, (which has been upgraded now) of “Know, Like, Trust” (now “Know, Love, Trust”) is totally misunderstood.  Many people think that it’s all about telling people about the features of your business.  They attend the event, hand out business cards, talk about what they do, and then wonder why it doesn’t bring them business.  They may attend for a few times, then move on to another group.  How can we make networking better?

I am not going to pretend that I am the know-all, be-all about networking, but it has been the biggest source of my business for the last 5 years.  Not only have I gotten business, but I have met wonderful people and built strong, enduring friendships.

I would like to share some ideas that you might want to consider when you attend a networking event.

  1. Find two people who you think you can help.  What other opportunities can you offer them?  I have three organizations in which I am very active.  I have set up introductions and speaking opportunities for people I meet.
  2. When you ask others about themselves and their businesses first, they will then ask you about yours. Ask sincerely and listen to what they say.  Focus on them, then think how you can help them.
  3. When they ask you what you do, tell stories. If you are a realtor, talk about how you helped someone find a house.  I met someone who had shown the same person 110 houses before they decided to purchase a house.  When I asked them why they hadn’t moved on, the answer was, “I wanted to make sure these people found something they liked.”  Do you think I would recommend this person?  Absolutely!!
  4. Do they have an interesting occupation or information that others would enjoy or find useful? Recently, I met a vet who has a leader dog and learned the story of how that came about.  What a terrific program for my Rotary Club!!
  5. Follow up with one-on-ones. Here is where they will get to know you.
  6. Develop a newsletter using mail chimp or constant contact. Give useful information, and do it on a regular basis.  Add the new business cards to your recipient list on a regular basis.
  7. Last but not least, be passionate about what they do and what you do. Be real and believable!!

I hope this helps in making your networking productive and fun!!

attend several events every day.  I love networking and truly believe that the old saying, (which has been upgraded now) of “Know, Like, Trust” (now “Know, Love, Trust”) is totally misunderstood.  Many people think that it’s all about telling people about the features of your business.  They attend the event, hand out business cards, talk about what they do, and then wonder why it doesn’t bring them business.  They may attend for a few times, then move on to another group.  How can we make networking better?

I am not going to pretend that I am the know-all, be-all about networking, but it has been the biggest source of my business for the last 5 years.  Not only have I gotten business, but I have met wonderful people and built strong, enduring friendships.

I would like to share some ideas that you might want to consider when you attend a networking event.

  1. Find two people who you think you can help.  What other opportunities can you offer them?  I have three organizations in which I am very active.  I have set up introductions and speaking opportunities for people I meet.
  2. When you ask others about themselves and their businesses first, they will then ask you about yours. Ask sincerely and listen to what they say.  Focus on them, then think how you can help them.
  3. When they ask you what you do, tell stories. If you are a realtor, talk about how you helped someone find a house.  I met someone who had shown the same person 110 houses before they decided to purchase a house.  When I asked them why they hadn’t moved on, the answer was, “I wanted to make sure these people found something they liked.”  Do you think I would recommend this person?  Absolutely!!
  4. Do they have an interesting occupation or information that others would enjoy or find useful? Recently, I met a vet who has a leader dog and learned the story of how that came about.  What a terrific program for my Rotary Club!!
  5. Follow up with one-on-ones. Here is where they will get to know you.
  6. Develop a newsletter using mail chimp or constant contact. Give useful information, and do it on a regular basis.  Add the new business cards to your recipient list on a regular basis.
  7. Last but not least, be passionate about what they do and what you do. Be real and believable!!

I hope this helps in making your networking productive and fun!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

